logo red

Convivencia Miami 2015

 

 

Convivencia Miami 2015 is a four-month arts and culture project that brings together artists, performers, writers, scholars, linguists, religious leaders and the public to discuss and celebrate the interwoven influences of music, dance, crafts, art, literature, poetry, language, food, gardens, law, science and religion during that period. From January to April, you’ll be able to attend any number of events from this incredible program. Arts at St. Johns believes that this period is a model for intercultural understanding, cross-fertilization and tolerance in South Florida.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Join us at our Convivencia Miami Events! We have great guest speakers and performers, including leading scholars in the fields of Iberian history, linguistics, arts and culture, as well as talented guest performers featuring dance and music from the original La Convivencia to the modern day! Click the link in the right-hand columns below to find more information about each event, as well as RSVP information and ticket prices.

If you want to watch the video of our Kick-Off celebration, click here!

 

 SCHEDULE OF TALKS AND PERFORMANCES

Monday, Jan. 19, 9:30am The Betsy Hotel Religion & Politics in Medieval Spain
Saturday, Jan. 24, 7pm Arts at St. Johns Karen Schoenhals in Concert
Monday, Jan. 26, 9:30am The Betsy Hotel Sephardic Jewish Diasporas
Monday, Feb. 2, 9:30am The Betsy Hotel The Gardens of Medieval Spain
Monday, Feb. 9, 9:30am The Betsy Hotel Dance, Poetry, and Music
Thursday, Feb. 12, 7pm The Betsy Hotel Ladino Music
Monday, Feb. 16, 9:30am The Betsy Hotel Languages of Medieval Spain
Saturday, Feb. 21, 7pm Arts at St. Johns The Romance Project
Monday, Feb. 23, 9:30am The Betsy Hotel Sephardic Jews in the Caribbean Islands
Monday, March 2, 9:30am The Betsy Hotel Thoughts and Experiences
Wednesday, March 11, 7pm Miami Beach Botanical Garden Comedy Night
Sunday, March 15, 2pm Arts at St. Johns Convivencia from 1450-1492
Sunday, March 22, 2pm Arts at St. Johns Crypto-Jews of Spain, Portugal & the Americas
Saturday, March 28, 4pm Arts at St. Johns – Back patio Tribute to Peace
Sunday, March 29, 2pm Arts at St. Johns The Gardens of Medieval Spain
Sunday, April 12, 2pm Arts at St. Johns La Convivencia: The Muslim/Arabic Perspective
Thursday, April 16, 2pm Miami Beach Jewish Community Center Sephardic Food Traditions
Saturday, April 18, 7pm Arts at St. Johns Convivencia Tres Culturas
Sunday, April 26, 2pm Arts at St. Johns Languages of Medieval Spain
Sunday, May 31, 2pm Arts at St. Johns Madrigals with the St. Johns Chancel Singers
Sunday, June 28, 2pm Arts at St. Johns Searching for Home While Traveling Heavy